Download free dvi adapter to vga not working for windows 7 home edition 64

Converting VGA to DVI not working

My computer has 2 DVI-Ds and 1 HDMI for the video ports. I have had a monitor that was VGA only for some time. It works fine, so i got a second monitor that was the same size when i got my computer last year. The new monitor has a DVI port and is working fine. The other monitor with the VGA input does not work, so i did my looking around and got a StarTech.com DVI-D to VGA Active Adapter Converter Cable (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812400402&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC-_-pla-_-Audio+Video+Converters-_-N82E16812400402&gclid=CjwKEAjw-_e7BRDs97mdpJzXwh0SJABSdUH0XL1u4zFiYuNJJ910vmpCVAU5BNcCuV_wlek1fOSO5xoCWATw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds)

For some reason the second monitor would randomly go off and on again. I started trouble shooting to find the problem.

  • Upgraded the power sources for the converter.
  • Got a new VGA cable
  • Tried the converter with a different monitor (same problem)
  • Contacted the company and got a replacement converter (same models, same problems)
  • I updated all over my drivers and operating systems
  • Tried having only the one monitor with the converter hooked up

After everything I still cannot get the converter to work. I waited too long to return it and I can sell the dame thing. If someone has any ideas on how to get the thing to work that would be awesome. I am really hoping I did not waste my money, so I am asking the internet for help on this one. Google had no answers for me, so I thought I would give this a try.

  1. p.s yes I tried turning it off and on again. Yelling does not seem to work either..
  • 262 Просмотры
  • Метки: нет (добавить)
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

Since you have done more than most people would have I would say you aren't going to be able to fix whatever the issue is.

If it is a 390X GPU then it should have a Displayport connector I would have thought, you can buy Displayport to VGA adapters so maybe try one of those instead.

Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

Ya I have looked in to that as well. Went to a local store for the converter, so I kind of over payed. Hoping to find something to do with the converter.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

What is the resolution and refresh rate of your VGA screen?

I ask that, because most digital to VGA converters are very limited in what they can actually output.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

I looked at that to. The Monitor is at 1600 x 900 and the converter said it's max is 1920 x 1200.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

And the refresh rate?

The converters doesn't necessarily can output ALL resolutions possible up to the max. They might output only /some/ of them.

Also, some monitors need some weirder output (for example "reduced blank") that might not work with the converter.

And the maximum data is actually not resolution based, but pixel clock based. The pixel clock depends on resolution + overscan resolution and this multiplied by the refresh rate.

Still, ignoring overscan, if the converter is 1920x1200@60hz, it would have a pixel clock of 138mhz, if your monitor 1600x900 is for example 120hz (one common value in CRT, 60hz at that resolution looks flickery and is bad for the eyes on CRT), it would need pixel clock of 172mhz despite having less resolution.

So, it would help if you gave your monitor model, or if you don't know, at least the resolution AND refresh rate, and the type of the screen (CRT, LCD?)

Converting VGA to DVI not working

My computer has 2 DVI-Ds and 1 HDMI for the video ports. I have had a monitor that was VGA only for some time. It works fine, so i got a second monitor that was the same size when i got my computer last year. The new monitor has a DVI port and is working fine. The other monitor with the VGA input does not work, so i did my looking around and got a StarTech.com DVI-D to VGA Active Adapter Converter Cable (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812400402&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-PC-_-pla-_-Audio+Video+Converters-_-N82E16812400402&gclid=CjwKEAjw-_e7BRDs97mdpJzXwh0SJABSdUH0XL1u4zFiYuNJJ910vmpCVAU5BNcCuV_wlek1fOSO5xoCWATw_wcB&gclsrc=aw.ds)

For some reason the second monitor would randomly go off and on again. I started trouble shooting to find the problem.

  • Upgraded the power sources for the converter.
  • Got a new VGA cable
  • Tried the converter with a different monitor (same problem)
  • Contacted the company and got a replacement converter (same models, same problems)
  • I updated all over my drivers and operating systems
  • Tried having only the one monitor with the converter hooked up

After everything I still cannot get the converter to work. I waited too long to return it and I can sell the dame thing. If someone has any ideas on how to get the thing to work that would be awesome. I am really hoping I did not waste my money, so I am asking the internet for help on this one. Google had no answers for me, so I thought I would give this a try.

  1. p.s yes I tried turning it off and on again. Yelling does not seem to work either..
  • 262 Просмотры
  • Метки: нет (добавить)
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

Since you have done more than most people would have I would say you aren't going to be able to fix whatever the issue is.

If it is a 390X GPU then it should have a Displayport connector I would have thought, you can buy Displayport to VGA adapters so maybe try one of those instead.

Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

Ya I have looked in to that as well. Went to a local store for the converter, so I kind of over payed. Hoping to find something to do with the converter.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

What is the resolution and refresh rate of your VGA screen?

I ask that, because most digital to VGA converters are very limited in what they can actually output.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

I looked at that to. The Monitor is at 1600 x 900 and the converter said it's max is 1920 x 1200.

  • Мне нравится Показать отметки "Мне нравится" (0) (0)
  • Действия
Re: Converting VGA to DVI not working

And the refresh rate?

The converters doesn't necessarily can output ALL resolutions possible up to the max. They might output only /some/ of them.

Also, some monitors need some weirder output (for example "reduced blank") that might not work with the converter.

And the maximum data is actually not resolution based, but pixel clock based. The pixel clock depends on resolution + overscan resolution and this multiplied by the refresh rate.

Still, ignoring overscan, if the converter is 1920x1200@60hz, it would have a pixel clock of 138mhz, if your monitor 1600x900 is for example 120hz (one common value in CRT, 60hz at that resolution looks flickery and is bad for the eyes on CRT), it would need pixel clock of 172mhz despite having less resolution.

So, it would help if you gave your monitor model, or if you don't know, at least the resolution AND refresh rate, and the type of the screen (CRT, LCD?)